This class is locked

To view it you should do one of the following:

Wk 175 – Subtle Body – Chakras – 3. Manipura Chakra

Sorry…The audio isn’t as good as it is normal. Something has happened to my compressor. I am trying to figure it out. So the camera audio is going to have to do for the time being. Thanks, Zephyr x

We are continuing our exploration of the physical and subtle body looking at the structure and function of the Self. Yoga provides the agency over our own well-being. 3rd Chakra is to connect to our power with knowledge and humility to do our lives, dharma well.  Solar Plexus Chakra, Manipura translates from Sanskrit as “city of jewels” “resplendent gem.”  Location is at the upper abdomen, near the diaphragm.

The overarching meaning is all about how we Self-Define and Identify to a healthy ego. Where our willpower, confidence, personal power and self-esteem comes from. Manipura is associated with the element of fire and the power of transformation which is called Agni. Hence the ‘solar’ name of the area. It is said to govern digestion, metabolism, temperature, mental and creative energy.

  • Digestive Fire – helping transform food into energy, 
  • Vital Fire – helping transform energy to fuel actions, motivate us 
  • Fire of Intelligence – power of cognition
  • Mental Fire – helping drive ideas into action 
  • Fire of Compassion – helping warm to ourselves and our actions with empathy, tenderness and kindness

Hasta Mudra – Agni Mudra which is to place the thumb to pin down the ring finger. The Bija Mantra is RAM. The colour of the chakra is Yellow. The sense organ is Sight, to See, to have Visions. Fire illuminates, this light is called Tejas in sanskrit. It is said that Yogis are bright and radiant holding great tejas! The movement of the breath to create this Tejas will be creating a connection to Samana & Vyana Vayu – likened to becoming our own rechargeable batteries.

Law of nature of fire is heat. We yogis build and direct heat to create positive change this is called Tapas. This energy is direct to skilful action, to pursue, to strive, to seek out fulfilment of our intentions, desires and calling in this life time. Ideally what is driving our action is humility, gratitude, and knowledge, empowering us in our lives. However, this might not always be the case and negativity or undesirable energies are what is driving us. Again we will be working with Brahma Granthi and using this heat to dissolve the knot that affects this area in a number of ways, but we can reduce the knot as how we hold fear, guilt and in manipura, shame.

  • Rajasic Characteristic: need to dominate, control, impulsive, aggressive, arrogant, intolerant, impatience, quick to react with force. Raging Fire
  • Tamasic Characteristic: poor self-esteem, passive behaviour, weak in will and drive. Small flame 

These extremes lock us in being demoralised in perpetuate shame or being fierce aggressive and then misidentifying ourselves with the behaviour and that keeps us stuck in a limited sense of self. 

  • Sattvic Characteristic: heat of transformation, to draw you into your vitality fuelling you to fulfil your purpose with determination, confidence and curiosity in the adventures of life, finding spontaneity in skilful wise action. Manifesting what your intention is! 

The DRIVE to take wise action, connect to your creative force to follow your dharma purpose and to connect to a quiet confidence and deep self-belief in your power, unique insights, gifts, talents and skills. To rest in the radiance in peace, contentment and fulfilment.

The imagery of Manipura is of a ten petal lotus that balances out the 10 the vrittis of spiritual ignorance that influences an unhealthy ego.

  • ignorance, craving, jealousy, treachery, shame, fear, disgust, delusion, foolishness and sadness.

Each petal contains a Sanskrit letter or seed mantra (Bija mantra) that corresponds to these qualities.

  1. (Dam): The first petal, represents the quality of steadiness and stability. It relates to the sense of grounding and unwavering determination.
  2. (Dham): The second petal, represents the quality of patience and endurance. It signifies the ability to withstand challenges and difficulties.
  3. (Nam): The third petal, represents the quality of radiance and illumination. It signifies the inner light and wisdom that comes from balancing the Manipura Chakra.
  4. (Tam): The fourth petal, represents the quality of transformation. It signifies the chakra’s role in processing and converting energy, leading to personal growth and change.
  5. (Tham): The fifth petal, represents the quality of strength and courage. It signifies the inner fortitude needed to face challenges and overcome obstacles.
  6. (Dham): The sixth petal, represents the quality of compassion and generosity. It signifies the capacity to act with kindness and empathy toward others.
  7. (Dham): The seventh petal, represents the quality of forgiveness and understanding. It signifies the ability to let go of grudges and negative emotions.
  8. (Nam): The eighth petal, represents the quality of contentment and inner peace. It signifies a sense of satisfaction with one’s life and circumstances. 
  9. (Pam): The ninth petal, represents the quality of clarity and wisdom. It signifies a clear and discerning mind.
  10. (Pham): The tenth petal, represents the quality of purity and cleanliness. It signifies the importance of maintaining physical and mental purity.

These petals and they’re associated with all these virtuous qualities. Trying to balance and harmonise this centre and harness the energy of our personal power, self-esteem, and inner strength to skilfully live our life today.

The circle represents the boundless and infinite nature of the chakra and the idea of unity, completeness and balance within. At the centre of the Manipura Yantra is a downward facing triangle, another symbol of the divine feminine and the transformative nature of her fire grounded by the lower chakras and illuminating the upper ones. 

The animal associated with this chakra is the Ram is seen as a symbol of power, strength, and courage. It embodies the qualities of determination and fearlessness including self-confidence, inner strength, and the ability to take action.

Enjoy this practice.