This class is locked

To view it you should do one of the following:

Wk 178 – Subtle Body – Chakras – 6. Ajna Chakra

The Ajna Chakra, often referred to as the Third Eye Chakra, is the sixth of the seven main chakras in the subtle body. Ajna translates as “authority” or “command” or “perceive”. It is considered the eye of intuition and intellect. Its associated sense organ is the mind. It connects us to our ability to self-reflect, inner awareness, centre of consciousness and that connects us to our intuitive insight that provides perception beyond ordinary sight. It’s considered where we access deeper understanding and rest in the seat of wisdom where we can perceive truths, energies and realities that go beyond the physical senses. In some belief systems, the third eye is linked to psychic and paranormal abilities, such as clairvoyance, telepathy, and precognition.

The awakening of the third eye is seen as a crucial step in spiritual development. It represents a heightened state of consciousness, awareness, and the path to enlightenment, leading us to a deeper connection with the divine or spiritual realms.

The sacred geometry elements of the Ajna Chakra starts by the colour which is indigo, a deep, dark blue-violet colour. The Ajna Chakra is depicted as a lotus flower with two lotus petals. In some interpretations, the two petals are linked to the two main energy channels (Nadis) in the body, Ida and Pingala. These Nadis represent the duality of feminine and masculine energies, and the Ajna Chakra is where these energies can be harmonised. The letter “ham” is written in white on the left petal and represents Shiva, while the letter “ksham” is written in white on the right petal and represents Shakti. These petals are associated with duality. This duality can be of the mind and body, perception of the inner and outer worlds, between Prakriti (nature, the material world) and Purusha (spirit, consciousness), pure consciousness and individual consciousness. Whatever the duality, the third eye becomes the bridging gap between them. The petals symbolise the balance and harmony needed for clear perception and insight, gaining a greater understanding of oneself and the world, as well as developing a heightened sense of perception and inner vision.

A upward triangle is shown in the centre of the lotus representing the divine masculine. The upward movement of insight and energy from the lower chakras to the higher realms of consciousness. The shape indicates an active and dynamic aspect of the ascension of the peak experience of self-awareness that leads to self-realisation.

At the centre of the Ajna Chakra, rests the Om symbol. OM is one of the most sacred and important mantras. The Om symbol represents the un-manifest reality, the source of all creation and the divine sound of the universe. The symbology draws us into our waking, dreaming, deep dreamless state of sleep and 4th state of consciousness called Turyia. Om is composed of three syllables: A-U-M. 

  • A: Represents the waking state
  • U: Represents the dream state
  • M: Represents the deep sleep state
  • The Fourth State called Turiya: Beyond the three syllables, this is the silence that follows OM which is the state of pure consciousness and the ultimate reality beyond the three ordinary states of consciousness.

OM signifies the unity of all existence and the oneness of the individual soul (Atman) with the universal consciousness (Brahman). It represents the interconnectedness of all living beings and the realisation of the divine within oneself. When chanted is believed to balance and align these energy centres, facilitating spiritual awakening and higher consciousness.

The crescent white moon above the OM with the Bindu represents the lunar, receptive, and cooling aspect of the mind and consciousness. It also represents the veil or lens between the absolute consciousness and individual consciousness. This bindu is the seat of inner vision, intuition, and insight and is a focal point of concentration and meditation.

Third Eye of Lord Shiva known as the “Destroyer of Illusion or the “Destroyer of Ignorance.” The awakening of the Third Eye Chakra is believed to dispel the illusion of separateness and ignorance, leading to clarity, wisdom, and spiritual insight.

Instead of an animal in the chakra there is Hakini Shakti which is the aspects of Shakti, the divine feminine energy and creative force in the universe. Her particular role is enhancing inner perception, intuition, and spiritual insight by deepen one’s spiritual awareness and awakening. She has six faces symbolise the expansive and multi-faceted nature of consciousness. She has six arms represent the ability to engage in multiple actions simultaneously. Multitasking with precision and grace and the capacity to harmonise and balance different aspects of one’s life. She holds a book which represents the importance in acquiring and assimilating what one’s learns, gaining knowledge and eventually wisdom. She also holds a skull which is a common symbol awaking us to the impermanence of life and the ultimate reality of death. Reminding us of the transitory nature of existence and the need to focus on higher, eternal truths. She holds a drum, connecting us to the rhythm and the vibrational aspect of the universe. One hand holds a mala, represents the practice of meditation and mantra repetition. The last hand gestures a granting of boons (blessings) and dispelling fears signify the divine power of Hakini Shakti to bestow spiritual gifts, guidance, and protection. These gestures reflect the nurturing and protective qualities of the divine feminine

The Rudra Granthi is the knot covering the Ajna Chakra. This knot keeps a person entangled with the delusion of their self-importance and has a misperception of reality. The Rajasic energy distorts reality and creates the illusion of life that causes headaches, nightmares and hallucinations. It also creates Transcendence arrogance or best known as ‘enlightenment retirement’, which their practice of Yoga is fuelled by the intention of attain siddhis or powers for self-gain.

The Tamasic energy creates spiritual scepticism, limiting vision to create or see as there is such darkness, which draws you into denial, inhibits your memory and creates pessimism. When Rudra Granthi is active, in Yoga we can see this play out as people imposing spiritual hierarchy on themselves or others, attached to spiritual materialism and snobbery where there may be some disassociation with embodiment which can justify ‘bad’ behaviour because they are so ‘enlightened.’

When balanced and harmonised the Sattvic energy expands the view point to open you to accurate perception, discernment and an optimistic visions.

This practice weaves asana, pranayama, kriyas, mudras, mantras and more…Enjoy this layered practice drawing on the Hakini Shakti to support you and Shiva to awaken you.

At the end, I chant the Gayatri Mantra which is said to be an extended version of OM. Click here to know more about it.