Meditation – Bhuta Shuddhi 5 Elements

Bhuta Shuddhi is the most essential ancient tantric practice. Bhuta Shuddhi means “purification or refining the physical and energetic elements.” 

Bhuta referring to the ‘Pancha Bhutas’ or maha tatwas the five elements of earthwater, fire, air and space

Shuddhi means to cleanse. 

This practice is a fundamental process in the yogic culture which connects the physical, energetic and mental embodiment. The idea is that we connect to the physical elements within us, awaken to the energetic centres we call Chakras and create a clear pathway for kundalini to arises from its dormant state at the base up the central channel where all connects to the Source of all and then abides in the Heart reposing in Pure Consciousness. 

Yogis understood the laws of nature to attain greater; healthpowerknowledgewisdom and to sustain a joyful embodiment. Knowledge and mastery of the 5 Elements is a prerequisite for more advanced practices in Yoga, Tantra, Yoga Therapy and the sister science of Ayurveda. This practice of Bhuta Shuddhi serves to effectively maintain, utilise, balance, stabilise and purify all these elements. This is done by cultivating Prana – Life Force, the Vital Energy. 

Prana is made up of :

  • Ojas – Earth & Water – Kapha Dosha 
  • Prana – Wind & Space – Vatta Dosha
  • Tejas – Fire & Water – Pitta Dosha

To read more and to practice with Zephyr Wildman, click here

To support Zephyr Yoga Podcast, donate here.

Published on December 22, 2023