The Seven Stages of Yoga – 4. Self-Discipline

We as the competent students of Yoga (Adhikaras) devote and dedicate our time to a practice regularly and honour the teachings by adhering to the suggested path essential to achieving the desired State of YOGA! According to the Yoga Sutras 2.29, to practice Yoga the student follows the 8 limbed path. 

8 Limbs of Yoga

1. Yamas 2. Niyamas 3. Asana 4. Pranayama 5. Pratyahara 6. Dharana 7. Dhyana 8. Samadhi

This is what is suggested as practice Self-Awareness, Understanding, Acceptance and then Discipline to become Self – Actualised, to Self-Transcend and Self-Transform as a liberated causal experience from rebirth which is called Kaivalya. Most of us will be dancing through the first 4 stages most of our life, however there may come a point where there is an unfolding into the further stages, but until then we practice. 

To read more and to practice with Zephyr Wildman, click here.

To support Zephyr Yoga Podcast, please donate here.

Published on June 13, 2023