Zephyr Wildman offers words of inspiration to guide you through your Yoga Practice, Meditation or even your daily commute. In her own words, Zephyr blends Yogic philosophy, psychology and personal insight into the victories and struggles of daily life. Her informative introductions to the practice of Yoga provides you with more meaning, intention and focus. Stories and observations from time-to-time are a welcome bit of uplifting and encouraging motivation to continue to follow a path of balance and serenity.

If you like what you hear, join Zephyr on ZephyrYoga.com or on ZephyrYogaRetreats.com.

Please help me continue to share these teachings and wisdom by donating to Zephyr Yoga.

To DONATE click here.

Loving Kindness Meditation

Words and their meanings have a wonderful way of painting an experience felt in the body, energy and mind. Certain words can spark a positive neurological effect empowering, motivating and even healing us. They tell a unique story within. This story we will tell is one of Loving Kindness. Using Buddhist slogans to be tender…

Read more

Meditation Smiling

Compassion begins with the capacity to hold our own life wrapped in the arm of our loving heart. Our ability to self care is supported through the attention of our hurt and pain, the kinder words we speak to ourselves on a daily basis and how we physically get our needs met. When we care for…

Read more

Ashtanga vs Kriya Yoga

The purpose of both Ashtanga and Kriya Yoga is to manage the unmanageability of being human, the obstructions, afflictions and the struggle of desire and karmic action we all go through. Either practice subdues the body and mind to attain the state beyond it, which is said to be serene, peaceful, joyous and always free! Ashtanga is…

Read more

Meditation – Surya & Chandra Bhedana to abide in the Heart

This practice invites you to abide in the heart. Using Kapalabhati & Antara Kumbhaka Pranayama that clears and purifies the energy channels to prepare for Surya and Chandra Bhedana, Sun and Moon piercing. Isolating our attention on the right and left nostril channels (Pingala & Ida Nadis) to connect to their unique qualities, then draw…

Read more

8 Limbs – Samadhi – Total Absorption

Samadhi is the eighth and final step on the path of practicing Yoga, as defined by Patanjali’sYoga Sutras. It is the ultimate stage in the voyage of attaining the state of Yoga. In sanskrit, sam meaning “together” or “completely,” or  “toward” and dhe, meaning “put.” Direct translations vary, ranging in absorption, total integration, bliss, liberation and even enlightenment. I have experienced it…

Read more

Dhyana – Meditation

In this mediation practice we will be seated in Virasana, so please use a brick or prop to sit with Sthira/Stablitiy and Sukham/Comfort. We will be preforming Bhramari Pranayama, Kapalabhati Kriya, Bahya Kumbhaka, Maha Mudra and Bandha which will evolve into point to point breathing with HUM SA Kriya. The preamble will give you more…

Read more

8 Limbs – Dhyana – Meditation

Dhyana, meditation is the 7th limb of the 8 Limb Path of the Yoga Sutras. Meditation is a tool, to use the mind to go beyond the mind. It is the clarity of mind to abide in the timelessness of now, present in the here and now. An uninterrupted flow of consciousness toward that object. The…

Read more

8 Limbs – Dharana – Focused Attention

Dharana is the sixth of the Eight Limbs of Yoga as described by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. It refers to the concentration of the mind where it becomes one-pointed, a fixed attention on an object. It is a holding or binding your attention to the object with the intention of reducing the rajasic movement that feeds, agitating the senses…

Read more

8 Limbs – Pratyahara – Withidrawing from the Senses

The fifth limb of Patanjali’s eightfold path of yoga, is Pratyahara. Pratyahara is an important bridge between the external focus of the previous limbs of yoga, such as asana (postures) and pranayama(breath exercises) to the more advanced practices of dharana(concentration) and dhyana (meditation). Pratyahara literally means withdrawing from the senses, to gain control over the senses to bring about calmness, peace…

Read more

8 Limbs – Pranayama – Breathing Techniques

We are working our way through the 8 limbs of Yoga. These are suggested steps to practice Yoga to attain the state of Yoga, according to Patanjali who wrote the Yoga Sutras. The first limb is the Yamas, 5 ethical guidelines to have more intimate relationships with the world around you and others. The second limb…

Read more

8 Limbs – Asana – Posture

Asana is the third limb to the eight limb path of Yoga according to the Yoga Sutras. Asana is associated with ascetic austerities that are practiced to result in the state of mind being stilled and awakened. In Yoga Sutra 2.46 it states, to practice Asana you just need two things, Sthira – Steadiness and…

Read more